Faculty

Our Educational Leadership faculty come from disciplines across the diverse campus and provide insights and perspectives critical to student learning and success.

Ed.D. Educational Leadership      
Faculty Name Rank Department Email
Antwi Akom Professor Africana Studies akom@sfsu.edu
Josephine Arce Professor Elementary Education jarce@sfsu.edu
George Barganier Assist. Prof. School of PACE gbarg@sfsu.edu
Christopher Bettinger Assoc. Prof. Sociology cpb@sfsu.edu
Ali Borjian Professor Elementary Education borjian@sfsu.edu
Davide Celoria Assoc. Professor ELSIT dceloria@sfsu.edu
Robert Keith Collins Assoc. Prof. American Indian St. rkc@sfsu.edu
Wei Ming Dariotis Assoc. Prof. Asian American St. dariotis@sfsu.edu
Jeff Duncan-Andrade Assoc. Professor Raza Studies & ELSIT jandrade@sfsu.edu
Yanan Fan Professor Secondary Education yanan@sfsu.edu
Dawn-Elissa Fischer Assoc. Prof. Africana Studies drdef@sfsu.edu
Bradley James Fogo Assist. Prof. Secondary Education bfogo@sfsu.edu
Robert Gabriner Professor EdD in Educational Leadership gabriner@sfsu.edu
Sheldon Gen Assoc. Prof. Public Administration sgen@sfsu.edu
Shawn Ginwright Professor Africana Studies shawng@sfsu.edu
David Hemphill Professor ELSIT hemphill@sfsu.edu
Barbara Henderson Professor Elementary Education barbarah@sfsu.edu
Lawrence Horvath Assoc. Prof. Secondary Education lhorvath@sfsu.edu
Eric Hsu Professor Mathematics erichsu@sfsu.edu
Helen Hyun Professor ELSIT hhh@sfsu.edu
Mina Kim Assoc. Prof. Elementary Education minakim@sfsu.edu
Judith Kysh Professor Secondary Education jkysh@sfsu.edu
Ming-Yeh Lee Professor ELSIT mylee@sfsu.edu
Wanda Lee Professor Counseling walee@sfsu.edu
Daniel Meier Professor Elementary Education dmeier@sfsu.edu
Zahira Merchant Assoc. Prof. ELSIT zahiram@sfsu.edu
Gerianne Merrigan Professor Communication St. merrigan@sfsu.edu
Irina Okhremtchouk Assist. Prof. ELSIT irinao@sfsu.edu
Graciela León Orozco Professor Counseling orozco@sfsu.edu
Stanley Pogrow Professor ELSIT spogrow@sfsu.edu
Nancy Robinson Professor Speech Language & Hearing Sciences nancyr@sfsu.edu
Maricel G. Santos Professor M.A. TESOL Program mgsantos@sfsu.edu
Stephanie Sisk-Hilton Professor Elementary Education stephsh@sfsu.edu
Genie Stowers Professor Public Administration gstowers@sfsu.edu
Allyson Tintiangco-Cubales Professor Asian American St. aticu@sfsu.edu
Jennifer Trainor Professor English jtrainor@sfsu.edu
Maika Watanabe Professor Secondary Education watanabe@sfsu.edu
Darlene Yee-Melichar Professor Gerontology Program dyee@sfsu.edu
Gust A. Yep Professor Communication St. gyep@sfsu.edu
Betty Yu Assoc. Prof. Special Education bettyyu@sfsu.edu
Maria Del Rosario Zavala Assist. Prof. Elementary Education mza@sfsu.edu
Adjunct Faculty      
Faculty Position Email
Violet Ballard, EdD Multi-Tiered System of Support (MTSS) Coordinator, East Side Union High School District  
Jamal Cooks, PhD Dean of Language Arts, Chabot College jamalc@sfsu.edu
Deanna Fassett, PhD Professor and Dept. Chair, Communication Studies, San Jose State University dfassett@sfsu.edu
Donald Frazier, EdD Dean of Students, Galileo Academy of Science and Technlogy dfrazie1@sfsu.edu
Angélica Garcia, EdD Vice President of Student Services, Skyline College garciaa@smccd.edu
Andrea Goldfien, EdD Program and Graduate Coordinator, Ed.D in Educational Leadership goldfien@sfsu.edu
Alejandro Guerrero, EdD Professor of Counseling, Napa Valley College aguerre1@sfsu.edu
Raymond Kaupp, EdD Educational Executive rkaupp@sfsu.edu
Keith Nainby, PhD Professor of Communication, CSU Stanislaus knainby@csustan.edu
Robert Nakamoto, EdD Director of Student Equity & Success, Chabot College nakamoto@sfsu.edu
Roam Romagnoli, EdD English instructor, Santa Rosa Junior College rromagnoli@sfsu.edu
Janine Saunders, EdD Director of Learning & Evaluation, The California Endowment jsaunde2@sfsu.edu
Laurie Scolari, EdD Associate Vice President of Student Services, Foothill College lscolari@sfsu.edu
Jennifer Taylor-Mendoza, EdD Vice President of Instruction, Skyline College mendozaj@smccd.edu
Marla Williams, EdD Fiscal Services Director marlaw@sfsu.edu

Watch Ed.D. Faculty Profile Videos to connect with each faculty member and his or her work.