Program Governance

Burk Hall at SF State University

Governance Structure


The SFSU Doctorate in Educational Leadership is governed by an Executive Committee consisting of faculty, staff, and students. The program is staffed by the Interim Director, the Interim Associate Director, the Graduate Coordinator, and the Academic Office Coordinator, and is overseen by the Deans of Graduate Studies and the Graduate College of Education.


Ed.D. Program Staff

Dr. Barbara Henderson, Interim Director

Dr. Jamal Cooks, Interim Associate Director

Dr. Andrea Goldfien, Graduate Coordinator

Phonita Yuen, Academic Office Coordinator

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee provides direct oversight of all aspects of the program including: recruitment, admissions, curriculum, assessment, and other academic and administrative issues. The Committee supports the director in the day-to-day academic administration of the Educational Leadership Program. It is comprised of a minimum of 8 faculty members selected by the Governance Board and the Director. In addition, each year 3 student representatives are selected, one from each of the current cohorts.

Executive Committee Email
Henderson, Barbara
Cooks, Jamal
Gabriner, Robert
Stowers, Genie
Goldfien, Andrea
Fischer, Dawn-Ellysa
Sisk-Hilton, Stephanie
White, Fran
Akom, Antwi
Garcia, Angelica
Andrade, Ronald - 2015 Cohort Representative  
Johnson, Carol - 2016 Cohort Representative  
Stevens, Mallory - 2016 Cohort Representative  
Ford, Lauren - 2017 Cohort Representative  
Salcedo, Norma - 2017 Cohort Representative